Patient Testimonials Fort Myers, Naples, Cape Coral, FL

Patient testimonial:
Inguinal hernia repair, Desarda Hernia Center FL

Video Testimonial of Three Patients Throughout the United States

Hello,

Once more I want to thank God for using a wonderful team like Ufirst health to give my life back to me. 

You all showed me so much love and am so grateful for that. God bless you all.

To Doctor Robert Tomas, you are an angel sent from heaven to put smiles on peoples faces. May the Lord keep you and your loved ones safe and give you all round blessings.

To  Rajim, you are awesome. Happy to have met you. You sure are a wonderful soul. May God make you and your loved ones happy always.

UA

Nigeria, Africa

June, 2018

 

 

U First Health,
I traveled from out of state to have Dr. Tomas do my double hernia repair. He and his staff were the best! I am two months post-op and about to start back exercising. I would definitely recommend anyone looking for a non- mesh hernia repair to contact Dr. Tomas.
JP
Wheeling, WV
June, 2018

 

Dr. Robert Tomas/ U First Health
I drove down from Atlanta to have the Desarda Hernia Repair Surgery in January 2018. I am very happy I did this non-mesh procedure and that I don’t have that bulge anymore! The U First Health Center is a very nice facility and everyone was very professional. I spoke to Rajim after the surgery about a concern I had – he was quick to respond and explained that I was experiencing some minor swelling due to physical activity. I’m back to riding my mountain bike and working out at the gym. I stayed at America’s Best Value Inn ($100/night) and actually walked to the Surgery Center the morning of the operation. The only thing I can think to complain about was they were playing country music in the operating room. LOL!
GK
Atlanta, GA
May, 2018

 

 

My wife and I left Nashville for Fort. Myers on June 3, 2018. We had a pre-op appointment with Dr. Tomas on June 4. Left side inguinal hernia surgery was scheduled for me on June 5. Quick approx. 30 minute out-patient surgery and left the facility within 1 hour of surgery. Now day 8 and feeling Awesome. The is the best helpful and friendly Surgeon and office/surgery staff my wife and I have ever seen. A must go to for hernia surgeries and I will spreading the word where I live here in Nashville about this “non-mesh” hernia repair by Dr. Tomas. Seems most every doctor/surgeon around the country and the world loves mesh which is putting petroleum into your system with a good chance of causing problems. Dr. Tomas also repairs bad mesh surgeries by others. This has changed my life so I can start living again! Thank you so much Dr. Tomas and the U First Health staff! Ron and Ginger

RJ
Nashville, TN
June, 2018

 

 

 

I went to Dr Tomas’ practice few months ago for bilateral inguinal hernias surgery. I was happily surprised by how professional they are…. 1) they will take you on time !!!!! 2) the staff is very friendly 3) Dr Tomas explained to me each steps of the surgery (with pictures as well) and gave me insights about recovery time 4) They really take care of you. Before the surgery they will give you a folder with all the information you need to improve the recovery, in a bag you will find even your medications (no need to stress to go get them. everything is made to make the surgery stressless. I highly recommend Dr Tomas for people who have hernias. So far the best surgeon I’ve ever met. Thank you.

JC

Sarasota, FL

April, 2018

 

Dr Tomas is the Best! BJ Merket was  my contact person after I made the first call late in February when I knew I needed hernia surgery. From the detailed e mails of the whole process from the hotel stay to my caregiver (Pam). Dr. Robert Tomas’ entire staff was first class from start to finish. Plan your trip to Fort Myers, Florida to U First Health if you need hernia surgery. Thank you again Dr. Robert Tomas for making me healthy and hernia free.

SC

Las Vegas, NV

April 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I flew from New Zealand to have Dr Tomas do three hernia repairs in the one operation (bilateral inguinal and an umbilical). It was huge call and a leap of faith on our part but everything went exactly as he predicted.

Of course we were worried travelling so far from home to have surgery, 13,000 km and 36 hours travelling, but Dr Tomas and his team went out of their way to make us feel secure.

I had my operation first thing on a Friday morning and while the weekend was fairly uncomfortable, the pain never got to more than 2/10 except when getting out of bed or coughing. Never used the heavy duty painkillers only the Ibuprofen and lots of ice.

By Monday I was walking pretty well albeit slowly and we flew out of Fort Myers on the Thursday morning getting home after 36 hrs travelling. Organising a wheel chair to get on and off each aeroplane was essential, I didn’t really need it, but it kept people from bumping into me plus we got priority treatment. The flight from Houston to Auckland across the Pacific (16 hrs) was the hardest part, but manageable with regular applications of ice.

I followed all Dr Tomas recovery instructions to the letter and within two weeks felt great apart from feeling a bit stiff in the operation area. I didn’t lift anything of any significance for eight weeks, which was no big deal.

This was all 18 months ago and I am now fully healed, in fact I feel stronger in my groin now than before the operation.

There’s not a day goes past that I don’t thank the Universe that I don’t have mesh inside me. I regularly met people whose lives have been ruined by mesh, when it goes wrong, it seems to go really wrong.

Prof Desarda deserves every accolade for inventing this mesh free technique, while Dr Tomas and his team are simply fabulous.

Thanks guys.

John M.

Auckland, New Zealand

March, 2018

I returned to West Virginia last week after having my hernia repaired. I have an autoimmune issue and my family doctor told me not to have mesh. After doing much research I chose Dr. Robert Tomas. I ended up having 2 hernias- 1 that was very large. Dr. Tomas and his staff were wonderful. I received after care from Pam and she was the best! I am so grateful for the excellent treatment I received and would highly recommend this surgery center to anyone searching for a great surgeon that does not use mesh. Thank you !!

 

J.P

Wheeling, WV

March, 2018

I had my hernia done a few years ago and it has held up amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone. Stay away from mesh.

 

Toi D.B.

U First Health & Rejuvenation,  5 stars

Charlotte, NC.

Fenruary 1, 2018

 

Ocala, FL
Customer Reviews from the Better Business Bureau
Review of U First Health/Desarda Hernia Center, USA –
Original Review:

I am from Ocala FL and developed an umbilical hernia about two years ago. I did research on the internet and came across U First Health doing hernia repair without mesh. This interested me, having an older brother with an inguinal repaired with mesh 3 times working on #4. Also reading negative publicity of mesh company lawsuits I knew I did NOT want Mesh in my body. Just Say NO to Mesh. Dr. Robert Tomas is the only Surgeon in the US that is Certified by Dr. Desarda from India to use the Desarda technique having a return rate of <1% for inguinal and < 5% for umbilical. This sold me. I had a consultation and exam by Dr. Tomas on May 31st 2017. Dr Tomas discovered that in addition to my umbilical hernia I also had an open left inguinal hernia. He informed me He could do both surgery’s the following day. No brainier…6 weeks recovery for both. I had the surgery the next morning at 8:30 and was out the door on my feet at 10:am. Ate a chicken McBiscuit for my meds and China Buffet for dinner. I did get my rest and use Ice Packs and walk around every two hours following post op protocol which is written down for you. I also opted for the Extra med pack with Arnica Montana pills, Cream and Lido-cane Patches. I had a very fast recovery and felt better every single day. Dr. Tomas is the only Dr. I would let operate on my hernias and IMHO he is the best Dr. for hernia repair in the US. The entire staff from Alina to Dr. Tomas are very friendly and make you feel at ease. This was my first surgery at 65 years old.

Outstanding…Thanks Dr. Tomas for your outstanding work and thanks to the entire staff at U First Health for being there. It has been 3 weeks and I feel great.

Dr Tomas,

I just want to let you know that I am very very happy with the result of my second Desarda inguinal no mesh repair, this time on the left side. As with the first repair on the right, this one healed very quickly. I was off pain meds in two days, and taking long walks on the third. It’s been one month and I feel great. And as before, your staff and the hospital were top notch.
Thank you once again for your excellent service and for bringing the Desarda procedure here.
Please feel free to share and post this email.
Best regards,

Lionel L.
Miami, FL
April, 2017

 

Well I got out of surgery a little after 2pm and it went great just like the last one did. Dr Tomas is definitely the man! An excellent surgeon to say the least. I would like to Thank Dr Tomas and his staff and crew at U First Health for the wonderful job they did with my
Desarda-no mesh inguinal hernia repair. An outstanding experience when he repaired my left inguinal hernia last year and again today on my right inguinal hernia. Thanks again.

Byron P.

Eden, NC

July 2017

My name is David, I am a commercial airline pilot. I had triple hernia surgery (Bilateral inguinal, and umbilical) 2 weeks ago. I elected to go out of network to Dr Tomas, and am glad I did. From my first contact with BJ to the followup visit last week, I experienced five star service from each person on the staff. At day 11, I am nearly pain free, off all medications, and am walking 2-3 miles per day. I would highly recommend the Desarda Hernia Center, USA® to anyone who is considering mesh free hernia surgery.

David M. reviewed 
Desarda Hernia Center, USA – No Mesh Repair — 5 star

Dr.Tomas,

It’ s been four months since you performed hernia surgery on me
(10-23-15). I have followed your instructions on the amount of weight
to lift for the prescribed length of time. I feel great and am capable
of shoveling snow and lifting/carrying 40# bags of salt with no
problem. Seven weeks after surgery I started skiing. Worked into it
easy and now I’m at full speed and practicing for the upcoming races
in March.
I want to thank you and your staff for the wonderful work you do. I’m
glad I went online and found your clinic.
“Doc, you do good work and I have taken care of it.”

Patrick K.
Hart, MI.
February, 2016

Dear Dr. Tomas, BJ, and Staff,

Thank You Very Much for getting my Hernias repaired in such an efficient manner and in short notice. Thank You All for an excellent job so now I am on the road to recovery.
I just cannot say enough about how efficient your entire operation is from the moment we arrived Ft Myers Airport. I have to say this entire experience is above and beyond what anyone could have experienced in the best hospital settings. You certainly are at the top of your games!! Thank You All Very Much! Warm Regards, Bill

Bill C.
Hong Kong, China
May, 2016

Mesh Removal Patient Testimonial

(Dr. Tomas’ office receives hundreds of calls like this each month about patients with pain from mesh repairs. He only removes mesh that is placed from an open surgical hernia repair technique)

I’m a 28 yr old male who lives in NY and was diagnosed with a inguinal hernia in late 2014. In 2015, the pain was getting unbearable, so I went to a local surgeon where I live in New York who repaired my inguinal hernia with a paritex pro grip plug and patch. After the surgery, I was in a lot of pain, feeling my body rejecting the mesh, pain in my groin as well as unregulated bowl movements.

Since then, I did a lot of research online and found Dr. Robert Tomas at Ufirsthealth, Desarda Hernia Center, USA in Fort Myers Florida. After talking with Michelle and BJ, I was at ease as far as setting up an appointment with Dr. Tomas. Dr. Tomas actually got on the phone with me and talked with me about my situation.

After getting over the fact that I had to go to Florida for surgery, and everybody that was around me thought I was crazy for doing so, I booked the flight for the end of March to have Dr. Tomas re-repair my hernia.

When I arrived to Ufirsthealth, it didn’t even feel like I was going to a doctor. The office is very modern, the staff is very friendly and informative and Dr. Tomas was very professional talking with me.

Dr. Tomas examined me and pin pointed the pain that the mesh was causing right away. My doctor in New York told me I was crazy and I had to deal with it because the mesh is permanent and cannot be removed.

The next day, I went back to Ufirsthealth for the surgery. I had my IV placed, laid on the operating table and by the time I knew it, the surgery was over. Dr. Tomas removed 95% of my mesh and re repaired the hernia via Desarda technique. He said the mesh was embedded in with nerves and he had to remove it in pieces.

Whoever says mesh is permanent is lying. I am on day 3 with the Desarda repair and I have absolutely no pain. The area is very tight and sore, but obviously that’s because of the muscle being stretched out. I feel absolutely better. All the symptoms I was feeling before I received the surgery have been relieved.

Dr. Tomas is an expert surgeon. He is a godsend for hernia repairs. Whoever tells you that mesh is the way, stay away!!! Get your repair with Dr. Tomas. He is an absolute lifesaver. Thank you doc for giving my life back.

Frank C.
Brooklyn, NY
March,  2016

Dr. Tomas,

1 year ago today you fixed my inguinal hernia using the Desarda technique. I was 32, very active, had small children and a job that involved being physical at times. Before the surgery I was very distraught because I knew nothing about the surgery repair, and feared I would have to drastically alter my lifestyle. When researching inguinal hernia repairs I read all the negativity surrounding surgical mesh and was apprehensive to go that route. I had met with a surgeon back home and gone in for pre-op meetings. Then I did some more online research and found U-first health. When I read about the technique and contacted the office, all my fears were gone. The staff was very informative and I was able to have surgery just 1 day later than I had scheduled back home. The hotel was accommodating in shuttling me to and from appointments and surgery. The staff at U-first health was great and Dr. Tomas instantly made me feel like I was in the hands of a true professional.

The Lee Island Coast surgical center staff was also great. The nurses and anesthesiologist took all the worry out of what was my first ever surgery. Afterwards, I was driving with 9 days, walking with ease. I was able to survive on ice packs and Ibuprofen for pain, no prescriptions needed. Since my surgery I am back to my old routines in the gym, no restrictions with my kids and most importantly I have had ZERO complications (like what you hear about with mesh repair surgeries). As long as you adhere to the advice of this offices staff and put your trust in Dr. Tomas and the Desarda technique, you’ll be fixed up and back to life as you knew in no time! I want to extend a heartfelt thank you for all the care, comfort and professionalism to the entire U-first team and everyone at Lee island Coast surgical center.

Hernia repair can be worrisome, but not if you go with U-first health.

Justin T.
Coon Rapids, MN
August, 2015

Thank you Dr Tomas!

May God Bless you and your amazing staff.

Angola Patient

Paulo C
Angola, Africa
May,  2015

Dr. Tomas and staff,
It’s been 6 months since my surgery to remove the mesh from my right groin and I was just checking in to let you all know how great I’m doing:). I’m running and doing yoga without a problem, no pain, and feel back to “normal”. Thank you again for the amazing care you provided me! I’ll continue to follow up and keep you posted.

Happy Holidays,

Megan W.
Fairbanks, Alaska
December, 2015

Dr. Tomas and staff,

I recognize talent. I appreciate the art form and stratospheric level you have taken the experience of non-mesh hernia repair to.

I also commend you for attracting a cast of absolute super-star staff members, Super-Nova type personalities with priceless gifts for healing mind, body and spirit through courteous professionalism.

I was put at ease at every turn, made continuously comfortable and pain free.

I hereby thank each of your staff members with special mention to BJ, Michelle, Rajim, Kay, Evelyn, Sandy, the anesthesiologist, Rosario who was with Evelyn, the ladies who ran my credit card, the lady who drew my blood, the lady in your finance department, the young male physician’s assistant who accompanied you in our initial meeting who’s name regretfully escape me.

Faith is the greatest spiritual quality because you must have faith to overcome fear and that is the priceless lesson this experience taught me.

I believe our time as humans is best spent on this on this earth when we work to improve the state of our world.

I thank you for your contribution and commitment to detail regarding that endeavor.

Bravo! Bravo! Bravo! I am strong, healthy, blessed and excited about my future! Thank you one billion, trillion times!

Forever grateful,

Jackie J.
Albertville, AL
February, 2015

Hello Drs. Tomas and Desarda,

Dr. Tomas performed a Desarda repair on my rather large right inguinal hernia on April 2012. I just want to let you know that I am very happy with the results. Recovery was fast, and within a week I took an overseas trip and was walking around with a 15 lbs. briefcase on my back. After the initial soreness wore off, I never again had any pain or discomfort. I went back to lifting heavy weights (for me) at the gym and the repair feels solid and strong. After 10 months, the ridge is minimal: 2mm thick by 5cm in length.
Also, I found the care and professionalism of the staff, nurses, and anesthesiologist at Gulf Coast Medical Center, as well as the facilities, to be top notch. Please let them know.
Feel free to reprint and post this email.
Sincerely,

Lionel L.
Miami, FL
January, 2013